Joe Allen puts Wales on the Map... but where is Llyfr Glas Nebo?

Welsh Books Council

Joe Allen puts Wales on the Map... but where is Llyfr Glas Nebo? - 30 May 2019
Joe Allen puts Wales on the Map... but where is Llyfr Glas Nebo?

The winners of the 2019 Tir na n-Og Welsh-language awards were announced at this year’s Urdd National Eisteddfod at the Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff, on Thursday, May 30.

Winners of the primary category are Elin Meek from Carmarthen and Valériane Leblond from Llangwyryfon for  Cymru ar y Map  (Rily), a stunning picture atlas that portrays Wales at its best. 

Winner of the secondary category is Manon Steffan Ros with  Fi a Joe Allen  (Y Lolfa), a story that recreates the excitement of Euro 2016 as we follow the story of Marc Huws and his father on their unforgettable adventure. 

Chair of the judging panel, Bethan Mair, said, "We were in no doubt that the primary category prize should go to  Cymru ar y Map  –  the decision was unanimous. Here is a truly original book, innovative, excellent and beautifully illustrated, that combines many aspects of language, history, geography, culture, heritage and art of Wales, suitable not only for primary pupils but for all ages."

She continued, "Bethan Gwanas recently noted in her blog that we as judges didn't share this year's shortlisted books into primary and secondary age groups. The truth is that we found it very difficult to do so as many of the titles under consideration could bridge both categories. One thing became obvious  –  that  Fi a Joe Allen  was a story that touched us deeply."

Bethan Mair added, "I'm sure that some people will think us mad for not awarding the prize to  Llyfr Glas Nebo,  considering the praise already heaped upon this captivating book. My response is this: If you have enjoyed any of Manon's previous books, read  Fi a Joe Allen  –  whatever your age  –  and make up your own mind!" 

Earlier this month, the Tir na n-Og English category prize was awarded for the second time to Catherine Fisher, this time for her book  The Clockwork Crow, published by Firefly.

Back to News List

News Archive