Wales Book of the Year Award 2015 short list announced

Welsh Books Council

Wales Book of the Year Award 2015 short list announced - 01 May 2015

Over ninety eligible English-language books were submitted to the judges, of which nine books have been shortlisted for the Wales Book of the Year Award. Amongst this year’s Short List are Super Furry Animals frontman and Welsh pop-legend Gruff Rhys with his book American Interior (Hamish Hamilton), and Jonathan Edwards with his 2014 Costa Poetry Award winning title My Family and Other Superheroes (Seren).

Here is the 2015 Short List in full:

The Roland Mathias Poetry Award Short List
Telling Tales, Patience Agbabi (Canongate Books)
So Many Moving Parts, Tiffany Atkinson (Bloodaxe Books)
My Family and Other Superheroes, Jonathan Edwards (Seren)

Fiction Short List
The Redemption of Galen Pike, Carys Davies (Salt)
The Dig, Cynan Jones (Granta)
Burrard Inlet, Tyler Keevil (Parthian)

Creative Non-Fiction Short List
Down to the Sea in Ships, Horatio Clare (Chatto & Windus)
Other People’s Countries, Patrick McGuinness (Jonathan Cape)
American Interior, Gruff Rhys (Hamish Hamilton)

The Short List was announced to the world via an online broadcast in collaboration with the Welsh-language television programme Pethe on Friday 1 May at 1.00 pm. During the announcement the presenter Lisa Gwilym interviewed two of this year’s judges, Annes Glynn and Alex Clark about the panel’s choices. The announcement can be viewed on the Wales Book of the Year Website:

Judging the English-language titles for the 2015 award are journalist and literary critic Alex Clark, author Tessa Hadley and poet Paul Henry.

Lleucu Siencyn, Chief Executive of Literature Wales said:  "The Wales Book of the Year Short List 2015 is a great reflection of the standard of literature in Wales today. The shortlisted authors take us on many journeys  – to faraway lands, to various locations across Wales, and into the minds of characters both likeable and loathsome. With only a month to go until Literature Wales reveals which books will receive the title of English or Welsh-language Wales Book of the Year 2015, here are eighteen exceptional books which are well worth your time."

The Welsh-language judging panel for 2015 are author Annes Glynn, poet and lecturer Hywel Griffiths, and author, DJ and performer Gareth Potter. Here is the Welsh-language Short List:

Poetry Short List
Un Stribedyn Bach, Rhys Iorwerth (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)
Storm ar Wyneb yr Haul, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)
Wilia, Meic Stephens (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

Fiction Short List
Awst yn Anogia, Gareth F. Williams (Gwasg Gwynedd)
Saith Oes Efa, Lleucu Roberts (Y Lolfa)
Y Fro Dywyll, Jerry Hunter (Y Lolfa)

Creative Non-Fiction Short List
Rhyw Flodau Rhyfel, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Y Lolfa)
100 o Olygfeydd Hynod Cymru, Dyfed Elis-Gruffydd (Y Lolfa)
Mwy na Bardd, Kate Crockett (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

The winners of this prestigious Award will be announced at an Award Ceremony at Galeri Caernarfon on Thursday 4 June. Each category winner will receive a prize of  £2,000, and the main award winners in each language will receive an additional  £6,000. Tickets for the Award ceremony are  £10.00  /  £8.00 and can be purchased directly from Galeri Caernarfon: 01286 685222 /

At the Award Ceremony both the People’s Choice Award and Gwobr Barn y Bobl (the Welsh-langauge people’s prize) will be presented to the reading public’s favourite title from the Short List. Visit the Wales Arts Review website to vote for your favourite English-language title: The Welsh-language poll is hosted by Golwg360:

Back to News List