Wales Book of the Year Award Ceremony 2015

Welsh Books Council

Wales Book of the Year Award Ceremony 2015 - 09 March 2015

Literature Wales is delighted to announce that the Wales Book of the Year Award Ceremony will return to the spectacular Galeri Caernarfon this year. On Thursday 4 June the authors of the best books published in 2014 will walk away with a collected prize fund of  £24,000.

This year the highlight of this prestigious Award will mark the beginning of Galeri Caernarfon’s INC festival – a three day programme of culture and art with emphasis on the written word.

Lleucu Siencyn, Chief Executive of Literature Wales said: "Literature Wales strongly believes that Welsh literature belongs to everyone in Wales. By working in close partnership with Galeri in Caernarfon, one of Wales’ most established cultural centres, we will welcome new audiences to celebrate one of the biggest highlights in the Welsh literary calendar, and ensure another spectacular Wales Book of the Year Awards Ceremony for 2015."

Over 140 books have been submitted for the Wales Book of the Year Award 2015, and the judges have been reading through boxes of submissions since March 2014. Judging the English-language titles are poet and musician Paul Henry, writer Tessa Hadley and journalist and literary critic Alex Clark. Judging the Welsh-language submissions are novelist, translator and editor Annes Glynn; poet and lecturer Hywel Griffiths; and DJ, performer and writer Gareth Potter.

The Wales Book of the Year Short List Announcement will take place on Friday 1 May at 1.00 pm in the form of an on-line broadcast which can be viewed on the Wales Book of the Year website, the Literature Wales website, and the S4C Pethe page. During the broadcast a representative from both the Welsh and English-language judging panel will announce the three shortlisted titles in the following three categories: Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Non-Fiction. The English-language Poetry category is named The Roland Mathias Poetry Award Short List.

The winners of the 2015 Award will be announced at a glittering Award Ceremony at Galeri Caernarfon on Thursday 4 June. Each category winner will receive a prize of  £2,000, and the two main winners in each language will receive an additional  £6,000.

Tickets for the Award Ceremony are  £10.00 (£8.00 concessions) and can be purchased directly from Galeri Caernarfon:
01286 685222 /

Back to News List

News Archive