The 2010 Wales Book of the Year Winners Announced.

Welsh Books Council

The 2010 Wales Book of the Year Winners Announced. - 01 July 2010

The announcement was made on Wednesday 30 June at a Gala Dinner at St David’s Hotel in Cardiff, introduced by BBC Wales Political Editor, Betsan Powys. Gross was presented with the £10,000 prize by Minister for Heritage, Alun Ffred Jones.

Philip Gross is the author of twelve poetry collections, including  The Water Table  which won the T S Eliot Prize 2010, as well as a fiction writer, dramatist and Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University. He lives in Cardiff.

I Spy Pinhole Eye  is a collaborative work between poet and photographer. Simon Denison uses a pinhole camera to transform that most mundane of objects – the footings of electricity pylons - while Philip Gross’s poems explore the act of seeing and interpretation.

The judges for the 2010 English-language Award are poet and lecturer at the University of Wales, Ian Gregson (Chair); fiction writer James Hawes and broadcaster Sara Edwards.

The runners-up on the English-language Short List were Terri Wiltshire for her novel Carry Me Home (Macmillan) and Nikolai Tolstoy's  The Compilation of the Four Branches of the Mabinogi  (The Edwin Mellen Press). Both authors received a cheque for £1,000 each.

The Media Wales People’s Choice Prize, which was chosen by the public via an online poll, was awarded to Richard Marggraf Turley for his collection of poetry, Wan-Hu's Flying Chair, published by Salt.

The Welsh language Readers’ prize sponsored by Golwg 360 went to Manon Steffan Ros for her novel  Fel Aderyn  published by Y Lolfa.

Back to News List

News Archive