Award for Children's Author - the Mary Vaughan Jones Award 2009

Welsh Books Council

Award for Children's Author - the Mary Vaughan Jones Award 2009 - 24 November 2009

This prestigious children’s book award is presented by the Welsh Books Council in memory of Mary Vaughan Jones, the well-known children’s author, who died in 1983. The award is presented every three years to acknowledge a special contribution to the field of children’s literature in Wales.

Angharad Tomos was born in Llanwnda, but now lives in Pen-y-groes, Gwynedd.

A prolific author, Angharad Tomos is best known as the author of Cyfres Rwdlan, a series of small-format books that have enchanted young children since the publication of the first book in the series, entitled Rala Rwdins, in 1983.  This book has sold well over 15,000 copies to date. Television programmes and CD-ROMs have been produced based on the series, as well as new reading books for primary schools – Cyfres Darllen Mewn Dim.

She has twice won the Literary Medal at the Urdd National Eisteddfod, and also the Prose Medal, at the National Eisteddfod in Mold (1991) and Bala (1997), as well as Arts Council of Wales and Academi awards.

She has also won the Tir na n-Og award twice – in 1986 for Y Llipryn Llwyd (Cyfres Rwdlan) and in 1994 for Sothach a Sglyfath (Cyfres Cled).

‘This is an author who thoroughly deserves the award,’ said Menna Lloyd Williams – Head of the Children’s Books Department at the Welsh Book Council.  ‘Her contribution over the years has been remarkable and her work has been enjoyed by thousands of children across Wales.’

The award will be presented to Angharad Tomos at a special ceremony in the new year.

Since the Mary Vaughan Jones Award was first presented in 1985, it has been won by Ifor Owen, Emily Huws, T. Llew Jones, W. J. Jones, Roger Boore, J. Selwyn Lloyd, Elfyn Pritchard and Mair Wynn Hughes.

Back to News List