Wales Book of the Year 2008 Long List

Welsh Books Council

Wales Book of the Year 2008 Long List - 13 March 2008

The  Wales Book of the Year 2008 Long List  was announced on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 by Academi. Guests at two simultaneous launches – one at the Atrium in Cardiff and the other at Wrexham Library – were the first to hear which ten titles made the grade out of all the eligible books published in 2007. The judges are  Mavis NicholsonDamian Walford Davies  and  Trevor Fishlock.

The English-language list consists of a diverse collection of voices, techniques and genre. These ten books represent the work of some our best known authors as well as major new talents.

Loss, grief and love are the themes of the remarkable memoir from one of Britain’s most distinguished poets,  Dannie Abse. One of Wales’s most respected literary figures,  John Barnie,  presents us with a collection of poems, and authors  Malcolm PryceKitty Harri, Trezza Azzopardi  and  Tessa Hadley make their mark on the list with their significant novels. The Long List also features work by up-and-coming writers  Carys DaviesTom Bullough  and  Robert Lewis,  as well as the widely acclaimed memoir,  Blue Sky July  by  Nia Wyn.

On Monday, 26 May 2008, the ten will become three when the Short List is announced at the Hay Festival. Then on to Tuesday, 1 July and the glittering ceremony in the Hilton Hotel, Cardiff, where each language winner will receive a cheque for  £10,000 and four runners-up will receive  £1,000 each.

The Wales Book of the Year Prize is administered by Academi, and funded by the Arts Council of Wales through its income from the Welsh Assembly Government.  Dai Smith,  Arts Council of Wales Chair said:   'The written word, in both our languages and across all genres seems to be as powerful as ever. In Wales, literature is our prime and lasting expression as the exciting Long List for Book of the Year underlines.


Trezza AzzopardiWinterton Blue  (Picador)
Kitty HarriHector’s Talent for Miracles  (Honno)
Malcolm PryceDon’t Cry For Me Aberystwyth  (Bloomsbury)
Tom BulloughThe Claude Glass  (Sort Of Books)
Robert LewisSwansea Terminal  (Serpent’s Tail)
Nia WynBlue Sky July  (Seren)
John BarnieTrouble in Heaven  (Gomer)
Carys DaviesSome New Ambush  (Salt Publishing)
Dannie AbseThe Presence  (Hutchinson)
Tessa HadleyThe Master Bedroom  (Jonathan Cape)

The writers on the Welsh-language Long List are  Caryl LewisElin Llwyd MorganTony BianchiGwyn JenkinsAlan LlwydRichard Wyn JonesGareth MilesIwan Llwyd,   Llwyd Owen  and  Ceri Wyn Jones.

The judges on the Welsh-language panel are  Siân ThomasHuw Meirion Edwards  and  Aled Islwyn.

Back to News List

News Archive